On December 1, we celebrated the inaugural TRI-CIT Awards. This event honors the Northland Crisis Intervention Team (CIT), a community partnership of law enforcement, mental health providers, individuals who live with mental illness and/or substance use disorders, their families, treatment courts and other community stakeholders. Thank you to our own Peggy Gorenflo, Mental Health chair of Tri-CIT, and all others who put on this incredible event recognizing those who take steps every day to improve community responses to mental health crises.



Congratulations to those who were recognized this year:

CIT Instructor of the Year

David Strother

Community Partner of the Year

Amy Ashelford

Consumer of the Year

Elizabeth Wilson

Telecommunicator of the Year

Communications Supervisor Jerry Clark, Liberty Police Department

Peer Supporter of the Year

Sergeant Jeff Harman, Clay County Sheriff’s Office

Detention Personnel of the Year

Lieutenant Tracy Wade, Clay County Sheriff’s Office

CIT Coordinator of the Year

Sergeant Jim Morgan, Smithville Police Department

Youth CIT Officer of the Year

Corporal Bear McCulley, Clay County Sheriff’s Office

CIT Officer of the Year

Sergeant Cassie Cramer, Excelsior Springs Police Department

Ray County CIT Officer of the Year

Sheriff Scott Childers, Ray County Sheriff’s Office

Platte County CIT Officer of the Year

Officer Aimee DiGeronimo, Riverside Police Department

For more exciting updates, career opportunities, interesting stories and ways to support Tri-County delivered straight to your inbox, subscribe to our newsletter that is distributed every other month.